Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.

cute-dogWe grow up to be so trapped in the kennels of dogma that the day the economy shakes us into redundancy, we’re like lost little puppies looking for another leash. Reality is negotiable.

To be honest, I don’t think the leash was ever really there, only the shelter of dogma that woke us up at 7 for work and 9 for church. Reality is utterly negotiable, but only if you try making a few deals with life instead of dealing the cards you were dealt with.

Tim Ferriss, author of the 4 Hour Work Week won a kickboxing championship after a silly dare that put him in the ring armed with the discovery of a loophole: push your opponent out of the ring three times and you win. No need to bargain elegantly with life – just do it!

Scotty Nguyen, the world Prince of Poker, stayed behind in Sin City after a road trip and gambled away until he was broke each week  and mastered the art of Poker. He later became a dealer and than a multimillion dollar world Poker champion. Go broke 10 times and I’m sure you’ll become a millionaire too.

Victoria Beckham, a plain suburban girl who happily declared that she’s “not that good at anything” has reached international ‘it’ girl status and wealth by simply being wildly ambitious and brilliant at self-promotion. I never said you needed brains or looks, sometimes a dose of healthy ego is all the doctor ordered.

And finally, Antony Todd, who designs parties and interiors for the New York elite, was once upon a time a Hawthorn-born psychology dropout. He happened to land a lucrative account with a Park Avenue client to arrange flowers for a party worth $150, when the whole thing cost him $250. But, she called on him again, as did Bill and Hillary Clinton.

Moral of the story is sometimes you’ve got to give more than you get. Karma can be a great partner in crime.

‘Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination’ – Oscar wilde.

Little Miss entrepreneur

4 thoughts on “Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.

  1. I recall this quote:

    “Any person who selects a goal in life which can be fully achieved has already defined their own limitations.” – Cavett Robert

  2. Hi Julie, I just stumbled upon your blog by chance and I’m so intrigued and inspired by your little snippets that encourage entrepreneurial thinking. I have always been entrepreneurial at heart so was never happy at my corporate jobs often having to jump from company to company. I realised I had more to give to the world than just working FOR somebody else. I had too much of a vivid imagination to do so…and as you put it..to live within your means.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I always love to hear about other women that have an entrepreneurial spirit.

    – Sheryl

  3. Sheryl, thank you for your kind comments!!!! To hear from individuals like you is the reason why I write, I am filled with such happiness just knowing that I inspired your life at this very moment in time.

    I know I stopped writing but guess what? I am going to start writing again, just because you have inspired me, and I have so much more to share!

    Sheryl – do what you have to do to be happy, believe in your vision – you have everything you need to make it! Surround yourself by the right people and be relentless in going out there to get what you want.

Leave a Reply

